Maximum Stat Rolls

... A place to ask for help on any topic whether it be starting out to player killing to IT issues.
Naleth

Maximum Stat Rolls

Post by Naleth » Mon Nov 23, 2020 11:42 am

Have the imms ever said if there's a maximum cap to stats rolled at level 3?

I ask because, when I started playing back in the mid '90s, everyone "knew" 19 19 18 was impossible until someone did it. Even after that, they still "knew" 19 19 19 was impossible. They also "knew" you couldn't get a statsum higher than 87.

Now that I'm back, I've been taking a look at the wiki and was amazed at the info on the homelands page. To have each nation's base stats and modifier rates was a huge eye-opener. According to that page, it's theoretically possible to roll a 19 19 19 Borderlands Hunter (200,000:1) or a 92 statsum Illian Warrior (640,000:1). But just because the tables say its possible doesn't mean it can actually be rolled.

Testing whether these outcomes are possible would require hundreds of millions of failures to say with statistical confidence that it's impossible, and would STILL leave room that the tester was just unlucky. The only way to know for sure would be if someone had successfully rolled one or the imms confirmed a coded limit to the statting process (something like "if str=19 and dex=19, con=/=19" or whatever it would be in C).

So, has either of these happened? Is it possible to hit the jackpot and roll a 19 16 16 19 19 hunter, or have imms flat-out said it's impossible?

Aloisa

Re: Maximum Stat Rolls

Post by Aloisa » Mon Nov 23, 2020 11:47 am

Someone else will explain it in more detail, but it is impossible to roll a 19 19 19. The code will reduce a stat to 18 if you roll three 19s.

Vaen

Post by Vaen » Mon Nov 23, 2020 1:31 pm